RESOLUTION 2022-17

Establishing a Policy on Fireworks for Barton County

BE IT NOW RESOLVED, by the Board of County Commissioners of Barton County, Kansas, that it shall only be lawful for persons to fire or discharge those fireworks allowed in unincorporated Barton County on July 3, 2022 through July 4, 2022, provided that:

Said fireworks shall only be fired between the hours of 8:00 am and 12:00 midnight during the prescribed time period, provided, that no fireworks shall be discharged in any park; and

It is hereby forbidden that the sale, possession or use of fireworks commonly known as bottle rockets occur within the boundaries of Barton County; and

That the term "fireworks" as used in this Resolution shall include firecrackers, Roman candles, skyrockets, pin wheels, cap or toy pistols (except such pistols or any like device designed to discharge paper caps containing not more than .25 of a grain of explosive mixture), canes, bombs, cannons, or other like devises and all classes of fireworks that may be shot into the air or propelled over the ground by explosive discharges or any device using blank cartridges; and

That this Resolution shall be effective upon adoption.

Dated this 30th day of June, 2022.

SEAL

SOUNTY CLEAN

Box Schmeidler

Bev Schmeidler County Clerk

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

ABSENT Patrick Hoffman, County Counselor

BOARD OF COUNTY COMMISSIONERS

Shawn Hutchinson, Chairman

Kirby Krier, Commissioner

ABSENT

Barb Esfeld, Commissioner

Jon Prescott, Commissioner

Jennifer Schartz, Commissioner