Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Barton County

Emergency / Risk Management


Ajax Loading Image


Disaster Declaration & Information

A state of local disaster emergency may be declared in the event that a disaster has occurred or that the threat of a disaster is imminent.  A declaration may be made by the Chairman of the Board of County Commissioners, or in the event of the absence of the Chairman of the Board of County Commissioners, a majority of the remaining members may declare a state of local disaster emergency.  If it appears that local resources are not adequate to deal with the emergency, state assistance may be requested through the Kansas Division of Emergency Management.  Depending upon the damage, the governor may issue a declaration of a State of Disaster Emergency.


FEMA-4449-DR, Kansas Disaster Declaration

For the Time Period of April 28, 2019, and Continuing














Heavy rains and severe weather systems, including large hail and tornadoes, resulted in flooding and flash flooding in Barton County beginning on April 28 and continuing through the month of May and into the month of June 2019. 

Kansas Governor Laura Kelly sent a request to President Donald Trump asking for a major presidential declaration for the public assistance program.  The Public Assistance program helps pay for restoration of public infrastructure and associated costs caused by the heavy rains and severe weather. 

On June 20, 2019, President Trump declared that a major disaster existed in the State of Kansas and ordered Federal Assistance to supplement state and local efforts in the areas affected by severe storms and flooding.

Federal funding is now available to State and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms, straight-line winds, tornadoes, flooding, landslides, and mudslides in the counties of Allen, Anderson, Atchison, Barber, Barton, Butler, Chase, Chautauqua, Cherokee, Clark, Clay, Cloud, Coffey, Cowley, Doniphan, Elk, Ellsworth, Franklin, Geary, Greenwood, Harper, Harvey, Hodgeman, Jefferson, Kingman, Leavenworth, Lincoln, Linn, Lyon, Marion, Marshall, McPherson, Meade, Montgomery, Morris, Nemaha, Neosho, Osage, Ottawa, Pawnee, Phillips, Pottawatomie, Pratt, Reno, Rice, Rush, Russell, Saline, Sumner, Wabaunsee, Washington, Wilson and Woodson.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.

Additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the State and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

Assistance for individuals has not been approved for this disaster.


Barton County Disaster Declarations
Year Date Incident Description Resolution Number
2019 05-27-2019 Severe Storms & Flooding beginning May 27, 2019 NA
2019 05-20-2019 Severe Storms & Flooding beginning May 20, 2019 NA
2019 05-20-2019 Rain Storms & Flooding beginning April 28 continuing through May 9, 2019 NA
2018 10-09-2018 Heavy Rains & Flooding beginning October 9, 2018 NA
2017 05-25-2017 Tornadoes & Severe Thunderstorms beginning May 16, 2017 - Extended NA
2017 05-16-2017 Tornadoes & Severe Thunderstorms beginning May 16, 2017 NA
2017 01-23-2017 Freezing Rain, Freezing Drizzle, and Ice Accumulations beginning 01-13-2017 NA
2016 06-27-2016 Thunderstorms, Heavy Rains, Flooding and Flash Flooding beginning May 22, 2016 NA
2015 06-15-2015 Thunderstorms, Heavy Rains, Flooding and Flash Flooding beginning May 4, 2015 NA
 2013   08-04-2013 Severe Storms and Flooding beginning August 4, 2013 NA
2013 03-25-2013 Snowstorm February 20-27, 2013 2013-07
2012 09-10-2012 Burn Ban in Effect until September 17, 2012 2012-27