Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Barton County

District Court


Ajax Loading Image


Kansas District Courts (includes information regarding Jury trials during the pandemic)


Safe Juries In Kansas Courts - YouTube Video

District Courts are the trial courts of Kansas, with general jurisdiction over all civil and criminal cases, including divorce and domestic relations, damage suits, probate and administration of estates, guardianships, conservatorships, care of the mentally ill, juvenile matters, and small claims. It is here that the criminal and civil jury trials are held. Kansas is divided into judicial districts, with a varying number of judges in each district. There is a district court in each county and an office of the clerk of the court where cases may be filed.

Barton County District Court is in the 20th Judicial District. The 20th Judicial District consists of: Barton, Stafford, Rice, Ellsworth, and Russell counties. Barton County is the largest county in our district. The district consists of three District Judges, and four District Magistrate Judges.