Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Barton County

Emergency Management


Ajax Loading Image


Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC)

The Local Emergency Planning Committee is a product of federal legislation that was passed in the wake of the Bhopal disaster in India, where more  than 2,000 people died because of an accident involving an accidental release of a hazardous chemical.  To prevent similar occurrences in our own communities, Congress enacted the Superfund Amendments and Reauthorization Act of 1986 (SARA) into law on October 17, 1986, and it contains Title III: the Emergency Planning and Community Right-to-Know Act of 1986.

In the state of Kansas, counties were designated as local emergency planning districts.  The Kansas Commission on Emergency Planning & Response (CEPR) appoints the members of the Barton County Local Emergency Planning Committee (LEPC).

The Barton County LEPC provides a forum for emergency management, law enforcement, state and local elected officials, emergency medical service, public health, health care providers, fire service, environmental representatives, industry and the public to assess, become aware of and plan for hazardous materials within the county.

          Kansas LEPC Informational Brochure

          Barton County LEPC Membership Application

          LEPC Membership Categories