Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Barton County

Emergency Management


Ajax Loading Image


Hazard Mitigation Plan

The Kansas Homeland Security Region E Hazard Mitigation Plan was developed as a guide for Barton County jurisdictions and citizens to prepare for possible natural disaster events by taking actions to mitigate the effects of potential hazards.

The Kansas Division of Emergency Management began in 2012 to develop regional mitigation plans in an effort to provide sustainment of mitigation plans and save taxpayers’ money.  Consequently, the Barton County Mitigation Plan was replaced with a regional mitigation plan.  The Kansas Homeland Security Region E Hazard Mitigation Plan is comprised of eight participating counties:  Barton, Barber, Comanche, Edwards, Kiowa, Pawnee, Pratt and Stafford Counties.   The regional plan was prepared to meet the requirements of the Disaster Mitigation Act of 2000 (DMA 2000), as defined in regulations set forth by the Interim Final Rule (44 Code of Federal Regulation (CFR) Part 201.6).

Mitigation, as define by FEMA, is the effort to reduce loss of life and property by lessening the impact of disasters. In order for mitigation to be effective we need to take action now—before the next disaster—to reduce human and financial consequences later (analyzing risk, reducing risk, and insuring against risk).  It is important to note that only 50 percent of disasters trigger Federal assistance.    

Barton County jurisdictions who want to be part of the plan must formally adopt the Hazard Mitigation Plan to comply with the DMA 2000 and be eligible to apply for potential mitigation grant funding.

The Kansas Homeland Security Region E Hazard Mitigation Plan is valid for 5 years from the date it was adopted by the Barton County Board of County Commissioners, with Resolution 2020-01, on January 6, 2020.    

Region E Hazard Mitigation Plan

Individuals who wish to comment on the Mitigation Plan are encouraged to fill out a public comment form and return it to the Barton County Emergency Management Office.

Public Comment Form